Skip to main content

The Truth about DUI's in Florida - Duval County

DUI's are a big business, here in Duval County.  According to http://trialstats.flcourts.org/ in 2010, roughly 3,300 DUI cases were "disposed" of by the State of Florida and the State Attorney, the publicly elected official in charge of such "disposal" either by conviction, amendment, or trial.

The first 6 months of 2011 netted approximately 1500 new DUI cases, which shows a good estimated average of 2800-3200 individuals in Duval County arrested every year for driving under the influence.  One immediate private interest with an interest in DUI enforcement is the Northeast Florida Safety Council.   Current fees associated with DUI School are listed at: http://www.flhsmv.gov/ddl/dui_prog.html

The Northeast Florida Safety Council operates as a non-for-profit corporation, and has a general lock on operations pertaining to DUI school.  Another level of profit which is woven into the system has to do with the network of the Northeast Florida Safety Council and the referral to a private psychologist, if it is deemed necessary by the instructor, upon completion or before DUI school even begins.  You can, of course, hire your own professional and ignore their suggestion for a psychologist, but the selection and addition to that list must be a point of dispute or desire among some psychologists who would like more appointments.

Florida DUI Laws also contain a provision which is relevant to another corporation, MADD.   The price of the Mothers Against Drunk Driving class is around $50.00.  Multiply that number by the amount of disposed DUI's, and you get around $140,000.00 per year.

MADD is a very powerful lobbying group.  Name another group that can influence the Florida legislature to include provisions to secure future funding based on a particular class of crime occurring.  In essence, the organization has earned itself a settlement from every person convicted of DUI, as a general provision of the laws of most states.

They are currently pressing for ignition interlock devices on all those convicted of DUI here in Florida. They also successfully passed a law at one point, which was to turn the license plates of anyone with a DUI pink.

There is an entire system of organization with nesting bureaucratic entities providing their own checks and balances and flow of cash.  It would be interesting to find out where the majority of funds from this "business" ends up.


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Trafficking in Cannabis - Florida

Section 893.135 Florida Statutes governs trafficking in Marijuana, cannabis.  A person who is in possession of more than 25 pounts of cannabis, or more than 300 plants into the state, commits a felony.  The minimum term of imprisonment from 25 pounds to 2,000 pounds of cannabis is 3 years including a fine of $25,000.00.  The same is true for persons in possession of more than 300 but less than 2,000 plants.

The mandatory minimum term of imprisonment rises to 7 years and a fine of $50,000 for marijuana weighing from 2,000 to 10,000 pounds.  Again, the same is true as a mandatory minimum for 2,000 plants to 10,000 plants.  Over 10,000 pounds or plants, the fine quadruples to $200,000 and the minimum term of imprisonment rises to 15 years.

Plants must be considered to have root formation, and root hairs to be considered under the terms of this statute.  Callous tissue on the stalk of a marijuana plant is not readily observable evidence of root formation, but viability or sex of the plan…

Lying during traffic investigation - Making False Report in Florida

It is a misdemeanor of the second degree, to give false information to the police during an investigation.  It is governed by section 316.067 Florida Statutes.  To give false information at a crash, can be subject to arrest or a notice to appear may be issued to the driver.

If you are facing a charge under 316.067, Florida Statutes, call Graham today at 904-383-7448.


Running a Red Light and Running a Stop Sign Florida Lawyer

Running red lights and running stop signs are a civil infraction within Florida.  Civil infractions are essentially below the level of criminal in terms of offense to the state, and is governed by section 316.074, Florida Statutes.

Running a red light is four (4) points on a drivers license while running a stop sign is only three (3) points.  If you were to cut through a parking lot to avoid a red light, as would be quite common in Jacksonville, you could be found guilty of 316.074(2), and also get 3 points on your license.

If you received one of these tickets in Florida, give Graham a call at 904-383-7448